My first time – Kodak HIE High Speed Infra Red film

Ooh it’s exciting getting your hands on a roll of this stuff and it’s little canister rather sternly advising not to open the pot in daylight at all. Naturally of course the previous owner did just that, so despite my best efforts with this film it’s fate was already partly decided. How my heart sank when I pulled it off the developing spiral to see a black film leader. Never mind, it pales into insignificance when you see in all it’s glory the weird and wonderful world of HIE.

Here are the results. Not too bad given a) The film expired in 2003 b) God knows how it’s been stored c) I’ve never used it before, and there is no box speed d) I develop in Caffenol, which comes with no fixed list of developing times!

There is also e) I shot it in an OM4 Ti which has a patterned pressure plate,I knew this may cause problems but I had to find out what exactly – it’s pretty damn obvious now in the form of the textured appearance and even dark spots. I will have to source some backing paper for my next attempt.

Llanddwyn cross (HIE) Bastion (HIE)
Grassy Knoll (HIE)

The technicalities: All shot on OM4Ti in automatic mode, Zuiko 24mmf2.8 lens, metered at ISO200 through a Pentax red filter. Some also featured a Hoya CPL. Developed in Caffenol CH (Reinhold’s recipe) diluted 1:1 for 22 minutes at 25°c. The base was fogged throughout, and there are signs of streaking through the sprocket holes in underexposed portions.

Leave a Reply

